Men's Ice Breaker Tournament

History of the Men's Ice Breaker Tournament

The Ice Breaker Tournament was created by the Hockey Commissioners Association in order to celebrate the start of the season with teams from four different NCAA Division I conferences. The event has a legislative exemption from the NCAA which allows the four participants to play two additional games above the normal limit of 34. While sponsored by the HCA, the annual supervision of the event is assumed by the host institution and the staff of College Hockey Inc.

Year Host(s) Site Participants (Champion in Boldface)
1997 U. of Wisconsin Dane County Coliseum (Madison) BU, Clarkson, Michigan State, Wisconsin
1998 U. of Minnesota Mariucci Arena (Minneapolis) BC, Minnesota, Ohio State, St. Lawrence
1999 U. of Denver Magness Arena (Denver) Denver, Notre Dame, Providence, Union
2000 U. of Michigan Yost Arena (Ann Arbor) Colgate, Michigan, UNH, North Dakota
2001 U. of Maine Alfond Arena (Orono) Bowling Green, Clarkson, Maine, St. Cloud
2002 U. of Wisconsin Kohl Center (Madison) BU, Northern Michigan, Rensselaer, Wisconsin
2003 Michigan State Munn Arena (East Lansing) BC, Findlay, UMD, Michigan State
2004 New Hampshire Whittemore Center (Durham) UNH, Ohio St., St. Cloud, St. Lawrence
2005 Colorado College World Arena (Colorado Springs) Air Force, Colorado College, Maine, Union
2006 Miami University Goggin Ice Arena (Oxford) Colgate, Denver, Miami, Vermont
2007 U. of Minnesota Xcel Energy Center (St. Paul) BC, Michigan, Minnesota, Rensselaer
2008 Boston University Agganis Arena (Boston) BU, UMass, Michigan State, North Dakota
2009 Nebraska-Omaha Qwest Center (Omaha) Army, MA-Lowell, Omaha, St. Lawrence
2010 St. Louis Sports Scottrade Center (St. Louis) BU, Holy Cross, Notre Dame, Wisconsin
2011 U. of North Dakota Engelstad Arena (Grand Forks) Air Force, BC, Michigan State, North Dakota
2012 Kansas City Sports Sprint Center (Kansas City) Army, Maine, Omaha, Notre Dame
2013 U. of Minnesota Mariucci Arena (Minneapolis) Clarkson, Mercyhurst, Minnesota, UNH
2014 U. of Notre Dame Compton Ice Arena (Notre Dame) Minnesota, UMD, Notre Dame, RPI
2015 U. of Maine Cumberland Cty CC (Portland) LSSU, Maine, Michigan State, North Dakota
2016 U. of Denver Magness Arena (Denver) Denver, Air Force, BC, Ohio State
2017 Minnesota Duluth Amsoil Arena (Duluth) UMD,  Minnesota, Michigan Tech, Union
2018 Mercyhurst Erie Insurance Arena (Erie) Mercyhurst, Miami, Notre Dame, Providence
2019 Bowling Green Huntington Center (Toledo) BGSU, RIT, Ohio State, W. Michigan
2020 No tournament due to COVID-19.    
2021 Minnesota Duluth Amsoil Arena (Duluth) UMD, Michigan, MNSU, Providence
2021 Holy Cross Hart Center (Worcester) Holy Cross, Quinnipiac, Northeastern, BC
2022 Air Force/Denver Cadet Arena (USAF)/Magness (Denver) Air Force, Denver, Maine, Minnesota
*The 2020 Ice Breaker, hosted by Minnesota Duluth, was not held due to COVID-19. The 2020 tournament was played in 2021 along with the original 2021 Ice Breaker hosted by Holy Cross.

Tournaments Won (Thru 2021)
Boston College, 4; Minnesota, 3; Boston University, 3; New Hampshire, 2; Notre Dame, 2; Air Force, 1; Colorado College, 1; Denver, 1; Michigan, 1, Michigan State, 1; Michigan Tech, 1; North Dakota, 1; Ohio State, 1; Omaha, 1; St. Cloud, 1; Vermont, 1.

Appearances (Thru 2022)
Boston College, 6; Minnesota, 6; Maine, 5; Michigan State, 5; Notre Dame, 5; Air Force, 4; Boston University, 4; Denver, 4; Minnesota-Duluth, 4; North Dakota, 4; Ohio State, 4; Clarkson, 3; Michigan, 3; New Hampshire, 3; Providence, 3; RPI, 3; St. Lawrence, 3; Union, 3; Wisconsin, 3; Army West Point, 2; Bowling Green, 2; Colgate, 2; Holy Cross, 2; Mercyhurst, 2; Miami, 2; Omaha, 2; St. Cloud, 2; Colorado College, 1; Findlay, 1; UMass, 1; UMass Lowell, 1; Michigan Tech, 1; Minnesota State, 1; Northeastern, 1; Northern Michigan, 1; Quinnipiac, 1; RIT, 1; Vermont, 1; Western Michigan, 1.