Women's Ice Breaker Tournament

History of the Women's Ice Breaker Tournament

The Ice Breaker Tournament was created by the Hockey Commissioners Association in order to celebrate the start of the season with teams from a variety of NCAA Division I conferences. The event has a legislative exemption from the NCAA which allows the four participants to play two additional games above the normal limit of 34.

Year Host(s) Site Participants (Champion in Boldface)
2019 Mercyhurst Buffalo Harbor Center (Buffalo, N.Y.) Colgate, UConn, Mercyhurst, Minnesota Duluth
2020 Not held because of COVID-19
2021 Not held because of COVID-19
2022 Details to be announced

Tournaments Won (Thru 2019)
Minnnesota Duluth, 1.

Appearances (Thru 2019)
Colgate, 1; UConn 1; Mercyhurst, 1; Minnesota Duluth 1.