Press Release

Tessa Janecke of Penn State is 2022-23 National Rookie of the Year

Thursday, March 16, 2023

playerPenn State University freshman forward Tessa Janecke (Orangeville, IL) has been chosen by the nation’s assistant coaches as the 2023 Women’s College Hockey Rookie of the Year. Janecke had two goals and an assist in her first varsity game, a 4-1 win over WCHA powerhouse Wisconsin back on September 22, and never looked back. An integral part of Penn State’s championship season (College Hockey America regular season and tournament champs), Janecke played 38 games and went 22-25-47 for coach Jeff Kampersal. It is the second time in three years that PSU has had the Rookie of the Year as forward Kiara Zanon was the recipient in 2021.

Janecke was recognized three times by the HCA during the regular season, earning Player of the Month honors once and runner-up twice. Penn State went 27-9-2, its season ending in a tough 3-2 triple overtime loss to Quinnpiac in the opening round of the NCAA Tournament.

The national women’s Rookie of the Year is chosen by a vote of the NCAA Division 1 schools’ assistant coaches, with one vote per staff. The names on the ballot are each conference’s Rookie of the Year.The runner-up for this year’s award was the University of Wisconsin’s Caroline Harvey, a freshman defender from Salem, New Hampshire.

The other finalists for the National Rookie of the Year were: Brown University forward Jade Iginla, Yale University forward Jordan Ray, University of Vermont forward Lara Beecher, and Stonehill College forward Alexis Petford.

Winners of the Women’s College Hockey Rookie of the Year Award
Year Recipient/Position/Institution
2014 Dani Cameranesi, F, University of Minnesota
2015 Annie Pankowski, F, University of Wisconsin
2016 Sarah Potomak, F, University of Minnesota
2017 Jaycee Gebhard, F, Robert Morris University
2018 Daryl Watts, F, Boston College
2019 Sarah Fillier, F, Princeton University
2020 Hannah Bilka, F, Boston College
2021 Kiara Zanon, F, Penn State University
2022 Payton Hemp, F, University of Minnesota
2023 Tessa Janecke, F, Penn State University/td>