Press Release

Michigan Forward Adam Fantilli Is 2023 Tim Taylor National Rookie Of The Year

Friday, April 7, 2023

playerUniversity of Michigan freshman forward Adam Fantilli has been named the recipient of the 2023 Tim Taylor Award, bestowed annually upon the best first-year player in NCAA Division I men’s ice hockey, the Hockey Commissioners’ Association announced today.

He is the third Michigan player to win this award, the others being Thomas Bordeleau in 2021 and Kyle Connor in 2016. The award is voted on by the nation’s assistant coaches and is named for the former Yale University and U.S. Olympic Team head coach.

A native of Nobleton, Ontario, Fantilli, with 29-35-64 in 35 games entering the Frozen Four, leads the nation in almost every offensive category, including points per game, goals per game and assists per game. His 29th goal came in the NCAA Regionals, knotting Penn State at 1-1 in the third period. The Wolverines would go on to win the game, 2-1 in OT, to advance to the Frozen Four in Tampa.

Tim Taylor, for whom the award is named, spent 28 seasons at Yale and became the school’s winningest head coach as he collected 337 victories. His tenure spanned from 1976-2006, while taking two years on leave to coach the U.S. Men’s Olympic Ice Hockey Team as an assistant coach in 1984 and as the head coach in 1994. Taylor was captain of the Harvard University men’s ice hockey team before he graduated in 1963. He began his coaching career at his alma mater, serving as an assistant coach on the Crimson staff under Ralph “Cooney” Weiland and Bill Cleary before beginning his time with the Bulldogs in New Haven, Connecticut.

The Hockey Commissioners Association sponsors this award which results from a ballot containing each NCAA Division I ice hockey conference’s Rookie of the Year. The runner-up for this year’s Tim Taylor Rookie of the Year Award was Boston University’s Lane Hutson, a freshman defenseman from North Barrington, IL.

Recipients of the Tim Taylor National Rookie of the Year Award
Year Recipient/Position/Institution
2007 Andreas Nodl, F, St. Cloud State University
2008 Richard Bachman, G, Colorado College
2009 Kieran Millan, G, Boston University
2010 Stephane DaCosta, F, Merrimack College
2011 T.J. Tynan, F, Notre Dame University
2012 Joey LaLeggia, D, University of Denver
2013 Jon Gillies, G, Providence College
2014 Sam Anas, F, Quinnipiac University
2015 Jack Eichel, F, Boston University
2016 Kyle Connor, F, University of Michigan
2017 Clayton Keller, F, Boston University
2018 Scott Perunovich, D, Minnesota Duluth
2019 Joel Farabee, F, Boston University
2020 Alex Newhook, F, Boston College
2021 Thomas Bordeleau, F, Michigan
2022 Devon Levi, G, Northeastern
2023 Adam Fantilli, F, Michigan