Press Release

Levi, Perets and Pietila Voted Final Three for 2023 Richter Award

Thursday, March 9, 2023

The Hockey Commissioners Association (HCA) has announced the final three candidates for this year’s Mike Richter Award, given annually to the top goalie in men’s NCAA Division I hockey since 2014. A “Watch List” of 41 was reduced to nine semifinalists and now, with playoffs underway, the final three have been chosen. They are: Northeastern University junior Devon Levi, Quinnipiac University sophomore Yaniv Perets. and Michigan Tech senior Blake Pietila. Levi and Perets are repeat finalists and Levi was the Richter Award winner last year.

Levi and Perets both hail from Dollard des Ormeaux, Quebec, while Pietila is from Howell, MI. All three are ranked in the top five in NCAA save percentage and all three will return to action in Saturday night post-season play. The winner of this year’s Mike Richter Award will be announced on April 7 during the NCAA Frozen Four in Tampa.

Mike Richter enjoyed a phenomenal playing career, highlighted by 14 seasons with the New York Rangers, leading them to the Stanley Cup in 1994, their first in 54 years. A member of the Hall of Fame, Richter was outstanding on a number of USA Hockey Teams, most notably the 1988 Olympic Team, the 1991 Canada Cup Team and as the MVP of the 1996 World Cup of Hockey. Mike also played at the University ofWisconsin and earned a degree from Yale University.

Three Finalists for the 2023 Mike Richter Award

playerDevon Levi, Northeastern)
(JR – Dollard des Ormeaux, PQ)
Levi leads the nation with a .932 save percentage and has seen the most shots of any of the finalists (1,108). The 2022 Richter Award winner, Levi and NU play Providence in the Hockey East Quarterfinals on Saturday at home.

playerYaniv Perets, Quinnipiac
(SO – Dollard des Ormeaux, PQ)
Perets returns as a finalist and touts some impressive numbers: #1 in wins (28), winning percentage (.868) and goals against average (1.55). The Bobcats host Yale in ECAC Playoff action this coming weekend, having downed the Elis 4-0 and 5-1 this year.

playerBlake Pietila, Michigan Tech
(SR – Howell, MI)
Pietila leads the NCAA with 10 shutouts, is third in save percentage (.931) and fourth in goals against average (1.96). CCHA regular season runner-up, the Huskies host Northern Michigan in a CCHA semifinal on Saturday evening.

Past Winners of the Mike Richter Award
Year Recipient/Institution
2014 Connor Hellebuyck, UMass Lowell
2015 Zane McIntyre, North Dakota
2016 Thatcher Demko, Boston College
2017 Tanner Jaillet, Denver
2018 Cale Morris, Notre Dame
2019 Cayden Primeau, Northeastern
2020 Jeremy Swayman, Maine
2021 Jack LaFontaine, Minnesota
2022 Devon Levi, Northeastern