Press Release

It’s a Repeat: Northeastern’s Devon Levi Wins 2023 Mike Richter Award

Friday, April 7, 2023

playerTAMPA, FL — Northeastern University junior Devon Levi has captured the Mike Richter Award. Again. The Award, given annually to the top goalie in men’s NCAA Division I ice hockey, goes to a Northeastern netminder for the third time, Cayden Primeau having won it in 2019. The announcement was made tonight by the Hockey Com- missioners Association (HCA), sponsor of the award.

Levi led the NCAA with a save percentage of .933, facing 1,143 shots on the year. He had a goals against average of 2.24 and recorded six shutouts. Levi, who recently signed with the Buffalo Sabres, had 16 shutouts in his two seasons of play.

His work this year not only earned him Hockey East’s top goaltending honor, he was also named Hockey East Player of the Year. And, for the second year in a row, he was named a Hobey Baker Award Top Ten Finalist.

The other finalists for this year’s Richter Award were Quinnipiac University sophomore Yaniv Perets (for the second straight year) and Michigan Tech senior Blake Pietila.

Mike Richter enjoyed a phenomenal playing career, highlighted by 14 seasons with the New York Rangers, leading them to the Stanley Cup in 1994, their first in 54 years. A member of the Hall of Fame, Richter was outstanding on a number of USA Hockey Teams, most notably the 1988 Olympic Team, the 1991 Canada Cup Team and as the MVP of the 1996 World Cup of Hockey. Mike also played at the University of Wisconsin and earned a degree from Yale University

Recipients of the Mike Richter Award
Year Recipient/Institution
2014 Connor Hellebuyck, UMass Lowell
2015 Zane McIntyre, North Dakota
2016 Thatcher Demko, Boston College
2017 Tanner Jaillet, Denver
2018 Cale Morris, Notre Dame
2019 Cayden Primeau, Northeastern
2020 Jeremy Swayman, Maine
2021 Jack LaFontaine, Minnesota
2022 Devon Levi, Northeastern
2023 Devon Levi, Northeastern