Press Release

'Watch List' for Women's Goalie of the Year Announced

Thursday, January 20, 2022

The Women’s Hockey Commissioners Association has announced a “Watch List” of 19 goaltenders who will vie for the title of 2022 National Women’s Goalie of the Year. The award was created a year ago to recognize the top female goalie in NCAA Division I hockey. Northeastern University’s Aerin Frankel, who is on this year’s “Watch List,” was the inaugural winner.

The goalies to watch come from all five NCAA Division I conferences with 10 from the United States, five from Canada and four from Europe (two from Sweden and one each from Finland and Germany).

The conference offices have come up with this initial “Watch List” of outstanding goalies. A committee of voters — made up of a cross section of coaches, administrators, and media — will pare this list down within the next two weeks and then ultimately choose the winner who will be announced in March during the NCAA Frozen Four.

2021-22 Women’s Goalie of the Year Award “Watch List”

Jenna Silvonen, Mercyhurst (JR - Lohja, Finland)
Josie Bothun, Penn State (SO - Wyoming, MN)
Arielle DeSmet, Syracuse (SR - Charlotte, VT)

ECAC Hockey
Logan Angers, Quinnipiac (SR – Winnipeg, MB)
Rachel McQuigge, Princeton (SR — Bowmanville, ON)
Gianna Meloni, Yale (SR — Washington, DC)
Lucy Morgan, St. Lawrence (JR — Mandan, ND)
Michelle Pasiechnyk, Clarkson (SO — Ottawa, ON)
Corinne Schroeder, Quinnipiac (GR – Elm Creek, MB)

Hockey East
Sandra Abstreiter, Providence (5th – Friesing, Germany)
Aerin Frankel, Northeastern (GR - Briarcliff Manor, NY)
Abigail Levy, Boston College (SR — Congers, NY)
Kate Stuart, Boston University (SR — Chilliwack, BC)

Suzette Faucher, Franklin Pierce (SO – Middleton, WI)
Tindra Holm, Long Island U. (FR — Skelleftea, Sweden)

Lauren Bench, Minnesota (GR - Eagan, MN)
Kennedy Blair, Wisconsin (5th – Bismarck, ND)
Emma Söderberg, Minnesota Duluth (SR - Järved, Sweden)
Amanda Thiele, Ohio State (SO — Milford, MI)