Press Release

'Watch List' for 2022 Richter Award is Announced

Thursday, January 20, 2022

The Hockey Commissioners Association (HCA) has announced a “Watch List” of 28 goalies who will compete for the Mike Richter Award, given annually to the top goalie in men’s NCAA Division I hockey since 2014.

The 28 goalies come from the United States (16), Canada (8), Sweden (2), Czech Republic (1) and Slovakia (1). Of the U.S. goalies, Minnesota leads the way with five, followed by Michigan and New York with two each. Alaska, California, Illinois, Massachusetts, Missouri, Virginia and Wisconsin can each claim one. Of the eight Canadian goalies, five are from Ontario, two from Quebec and one from Alberta. Both Quebec goalies come from Dollard Des Ormeaux. There are three freshmen, seven sophomores, 11 juniors, two seniors and five graduate students among those recognized.

A committee of voters — made up of a cross section of coaches, administrators, scouts and media — will pare this list down to approximately 15 names within the next two weeks and then ultimately choose the winner who will be announced in April during the NCAA Frozen Four. A similar award to recognize the top female goalie in the NCAA is also presented by the HCA.

Past Richter Award Recipients: 2014 - Connor Hellebuyck, UMass Lowell; 2015 - Zane McIntyre, North Dakota; 2016 - Thatcher Demko, Boston College; 2017 - Tanner Jaillet, Denver; 2018 - Cale Morris, Notre Dame; 2019 - Cayden Primeau, Northeastern; 2020 - Jeremy Swayman, Maine; 2021 - Jack LaFontaine, Minnesota.

2021-22 Richter Award “Watch List”

Atlantic Hockey
Gavin Abric, Army West Point (SO – Hayward, WI)
Jacob Barczewski, Canisius (JR - O’Fallon, MO)
Evan DeBrouwer, Bentley (GR - Blenheim, ON)

Big Ten
Ryan Bischel, Notre Dame (JR — Medina, MN)
Drew DeRidder, Michigan State (SR – Fenton, MI)
Jakub Dobeš, Ohio State (FR- Ostrava, Czech Republic)
Matthew Galajda, Notre Dame (GR — Aurora, ON)
Jared Moe, Wisconsin (JR - New Prague, MN)
Erik Portillo, Michigan (SO — Gothenburg, Sweden)

Dryden McKay, Minnesota State (SR - Downers Grove, IL)
Blake Pietila, Michigan Tech (JR - Howell, MI)

ECAC Hockey
Ethan Haider, Clarkson (SO – Maples Grove, MN)
Connor Murphy, Union (JR — Hudson Falls, NY)
Yaniv Perets, Quinnipiac (SO* – Dollard Des Ormeaux, PQ)
Ian Shane, Cornell (FR — Manhattan Beach, CA)
*Entered school mid-season 2020-21. Will be a first semester sophomore when QU returns to school.

Hockey East
Gabe Carriere, Vermont (SO — Ottawa, ON)
Drew Commesso, Boston University (SO – Norwell, MA)
Darion Hanson, UConn (GR — East Bethel, MN)
Devon Levi, Northeastern (SO — Dollard Des Ormeaux, PQ)
Matt Murray, UMass (GR – St. Albert, AB)
Owen Savory, UMass Lowell (JR — Cambridge, ON)
Jaxson Stauber, Providence (JR - Plymouth, MN)

Dominic Basse, Colorado College (SO — Alexandria, VA)
Brandon Bussi, Western Michigan (JR — Sound Beach, NY)
Magnus Chrona, Denver (JR — Stockholm, Sweden)
Ryan Fanti, Minnesota Duluth (JR – Thunder Bay, ONT)
Dávid Hrenák, SCSU (GR - Povazska Bystrica, Slovakia)
Isaiah Saville, Omaha (JR – Anchorage, AK)