Press Release

Levi, McKay and Perets Voted Final Three for 2022 Richter Award

Thursday, March 24, 2022

The Hockey Commissioners Association (HCA) has announced the final three candidates for this year’s Mike Richter Award, given annually to the top goalie in men’s NCAA Division I hockey since 2014. A “Watch List” of 35 was reduced to eleven semifinalists and now, with all programs through conference tournaments, the final three have been chosen. They are: Northeastern University sophomore Devon Levi, Minnesota State senior Dryden McKay and Quinnipiac University sophomore Yaniv Perets. All three are playing this weekend in the NCAA Regionals and all three are Hobey Baker Finalists.

Levi and Perets both hail from Dollard des Ormeaux, Quebec and both are technically sophomores, though Levi did not play as a freshman and Perets enrolled in last year’s second semester and only appeared in two games (32 minutes). McKay, the only repeat finalist, is a senior.

The winner of this year’s Mike Richter Award will be announced on April 8 during the NCAA Frozen Four in Boston.

Mike Richter enjoyed a phenomenal playing career, highlighted by 14 seasons with the New York Rangers, leading them to the Stanley Cup in 1994, their first in 54 years. A member of the Hall of Fame, Richter was outstanding on a number of USA Hockey Teams, most notably the 1988 Olympic Team, the 1991 Canada Cup Team and as the MVP of the 1996 World Cup of Hockey. Mike also played at the University of Wisconsin and earned a degree from Yale University.

Three Finalists for the 2022 Mike Richter Award

playerDevon Levi, Northeastern)
(SO – Dollard des Ormeaux, PQ)
Levi was chosen Hockey East Rookie of the Year and is a Hobey Baker finalist. His 10 shutouts, GAA (1.52) and save percentage (.952) reflect his talents. Next up is a noon date with Western Michigan at the Worcester Regionals on Friday.

playerDryden McKay, Minnesota State
(SR – Downers Grove, IL)
A repeat Richter finalist, McKay also repeated as conference Player of the Year. His 1.27 GAA, .934 save per- centage and 35-4-0 record led MNSU into the NCAA Tournament where they meet Harvard on Thursday in Albany. He is a Hobey Baker finalist.

playerYaniv Perets, Quinnipiac
(SO – Dollard des Ormeaux, PQ)
ECAC Goaltender and Player of the Year, Perets takes phenomenal num- bers into the NCAA Regionals: a 0.96 GAA and a save percentage of .949. He has 11 shutouts in a 21-5-2 season to date prior to a Friday date with SCSU in Allentown, PA He is a Hobey Baker finalist.

Past Winners of the Mike Richter Award
Year Recipient/Institution
2014 Connor Hellebuyck, UMass Lowell
2015 Zane McIntyre, North Dakota
2016 Thatcher Demko, Boston College
2017 Tanner Jaillet, Denver
2018 Cale Morris, Notre Dame
2019 Cayden Primeau, Northeastern
2020 Jeremy Swayman, Maine
2021 Jack LaFontaine, Minnesota