Press Release

Finalists Announced For The 2022 Derek Hines Unsung Hero Award

Thursday, March 10, 2022

The Hockey Commissioners Association (HCA) has released the names of the six finalists for the 2022 Derek Hines Unsung Hero Award. The award was established by the HCA in honor of former Army player Derek Hines, who was a “consummate team player and team builder.” Hines played at Army from 1999-2003 and was a four-year letter-winner as well as a co-captain his senior season. He was killed in the line of duty on Sept. 1, 2005 in Afghanistan.

The HCA coordinates the award, with nominations from each of the six Division I men’s hockey conferences. The selection committee, made up of the six conference media contacts, Lt. Steve Hines, Derek’s father, and Army West Point head coach Brian Riley, votes on the winner “who displays exemplary sportsmanship, is supremely competitive, intelligent and extraordinarily conditioned with an unmatched work ethic.”

The award will be presented on Friday, April 8, during the “Friday Night at the Frozen Four” festivities in Boston, MA.

Finalists for the 2022 Derek Hines Unsung Hero Award

Atlantic Hockey
Ethan Roswell, SR D, Bentley
(Paradise Valley, AZ)

Big Ten
Jake Pivonka, SR F, Notre Dame
(Naperville, IL)

Wyatt Aamodt, SR D, Minnesota State
(Hermantown, MN)

ECAC Hockey
Linden Marshall, SR G, RPI
(Prince Rupert, BC)

Hockey East
Jordan Seyfert, SR F, Merrimack
(Annville, PA)

Mark Senden, SR F, North Dakota
(Medina, MN)

Recipients of the Derek Hines Unsung Hero Award
Year Recipient/Class/Position/Institution
2007 Dan Shribman, SR, Forward, Dartmouth College
2008 Chase Podsiad, SR, Defenseman, Army West Point
2009 Mike Phillipich, SR. Forward, U.S. Air Force Academy
2010 Jordan Pietrus, SR, Forward, Brown University
2011 Kyle Schmidt, SR, Forward, University of Minnesota-Duluth
2012 Bobby Farnham, SR, Forward, Brown University
2013 Kyle Murphy, SR, Forward, Providence College
2014 Brice O’Connor, SR, Defenseman, University of Maine
2015 P.J. Musico, SR. Goaltender, Penn State University
2016 Matt Vidal, SR. Forward, College of the Holy Cross
2017 Aidan Cavallini, SR, Forward, University of Wisconsin
2018 Dylan Abood, SR, Defenseman, U.S. Air Force Academy
2019 Brendon Kearney, SR, Forward, The Ohio State University
2020 Jared Pike, SR, Forward, American International College
2021 Josh Kosack, SR, Forward, Union College