Press Release

'Watch List' for New Women’s Goalie Award Announced

Friday, February 5, 2021

The Women’s Hockey Commissioners Association has announced the creation of a new award to recognize the top female goalie in NCAA Division I hockey. The Women’s Hockey Goalie of the Year Award will be presented for the first time this year, joining the Association’s Women’s National Rookie of the Year Award, which has been presented since 2014.

“Our commissoners group is pleased to make this announcement and add a new and appropriate award to the national landscape,” said Joe Bertagna, Secretary-Treasurer for the Women’s HCA. “We hope to name this award as we go forward but for now, we are pleased to offer this recognition to our best female netminders.”

The conference offices have come up with an initial “Watch List” of 21 outstanding goalies. A committee of voters — made up of a cross section of coaches, administrators, and media — will pare this list down within the next two weeks and then ultimately choose the winner who will be announced in March during the NCAA Frozen Four.

2020-21 Women’s Goalie of the Year Award “Watch List”

Annika Asplundh, Lindenwood (JR - New Hope, PA)
Jenna Silvonen, Mercyhurst (SO - Lohja, Finland)
Josie Bothun, Penn State (FR - Wyoming, MN)
Raygan Kirk, Robert Morris, (SO - Ste. Anne, MAN)
Arielle DeSmet, Robert Morris (JR - Charlotte, VT)
Allison Small, Syracuse (SR - Nestleton, ONT)

ECAC Hockey
Kayle Osborne, Colgate (FR - Westport, ONT)
Logan Angers, Quinnipiac (JR – Winnipeg, MB)

Hockey East
Corinne Schroeder, BU (SR – Elm Creek, MB)
Loryn Porter, Maine (SR – Mississauga, ON)
Ava Boutilier, UNH (SR – Charlottetown, PEI)
Aerin Frankel, Northeastern (SR - Briarcliff Manor, NY)
Sandra Abstreiter, Providence (JR – Friesing, Germany)
Jessie McPherson, Vermont (FR – Chatham, ONT)

Kerrigan Dowhy, Bemidji State (SR - The Pas, MB)
Lauren Bench, Minnesota (SR - Eagan, MN)
Calla Frank, Minnesota State (SO - Hugo, MN)
Emma Söderberg, Minnesota Duluth (JR - Järved, Sweden)
Andrea Braendli, Ohio State (JR - Zurich, Switzerland)
Emma Polusny, St. Cloud State (SR - Mound, MN)
Kennedy Blair, Wisconsin (SR – Bismarck, ND)