Press Release

Penn State’s Zanon is 2020-21 National Rookie of the Year

Wednesday, March 17, 2021

playerFor her efforts in a phenomenal rookie season, Penn State freshman forward Kiara Zanon has been chosen by the nation’s assistant coaches as the Women’s College Hockey Rookie of the Year. A native of Fairport, NY, Zanon led all NCAA first-year players with 10 goals and 20 assists for 30 points. In the process, she led Penn State in points and assists and was instrumental in the Nittany Lions 16-3-2 season. She was previously recognized as the College Hockey America Rookie of the Year and Player of the Year.

Prior to this honor, Zanon was named one of the ten finalists for the Patty Kazmaier Award, given annually to the best player in women’s college hockey. Zanon is the only freshman among this year’s finalists and is the first Penn State player to earn this recognition.

The national women’s Rookie of the Year is chosen by a vote of the NCAA Division 1 schools’ assistant coaches, with one vote per staff. The names on the ballot are each conference’s Rookie of the Year.The runner-up for this year’s award was Colgate University’s Kayle Osborne. a freshman goaltender from Westport, Ontario.

Winners of the Women’s College Hockey Rookie of the Year Award
Year Recipient Institution
2014 Dani Camaresi University of Minnesota
2015 Annie Pankowski University of Wisconsin
2016 Sarah Potomak University of Minnesota
2017 Jaycee Gebhard Robert Morris University
2018 Daryl Watts Boston College
2019 Sarah Fillier Princeton University
2020 Hannah Bilka Boston College
2021 Kiara Zanon Penn State University