Press Release

Northeastern’s Gwyneth Philips is Goalie of the Year

Huskies Claim Nation’s Top Netminder for Third Straight Year

Thursday, March 16, 2023

playerThe Women’s Hockey Commissioners Association has announced that Northeastern University senior Gwyneth Philips has been selected as this year’s recipient of the Women’s College Hockey Goalie of the Year Award. It is the third year this award has been handed out and all honorees have come from Northeastern. (NU’s Aerin Frankel prevailed in 2021 and 2022.) Voting was carried out by a panel of coaches, administrators and members of the media from across the country.

A native of Athens, OH, Philips set the statistical standard for goaltenders across the country this year. One of two goaltenders among the finalists for this year’s Patty Kazmaier Award— Minnesota Duluth’s Emma Soderberg was the other — Philips has been at or near the top of a number of NCAA goaltending categories all year. Following a 4-1 win over Yale (38 saves) in the NCAA Quarterfinals, Philips takes a 0.81 GAA and .961 save percentage into a Friday semifinal match with defending NCAA champion Ohio State in Duluth, MN.

In addition to Philips, the other finalists for the Women’s College Hockey Goalie of the Year Award were Yale University sophomore Pia Dukaric and UMD graduate student Emma Soderberg.

Winners of the Women's National Goalie of the Year Award
Year Recipient/Institution
2021 Aerin Frankel, Northeastern
2022 Aerin Frankel, Northeastern
2023 Gwyneth Philips, Northeastern