Press Release

Minnesota's Hemp is 2021-22 National Rookie of the Year

Wednesday, March 16, 2022

For helping her team to a 29-9-1 record, Minnesota freshman forward Peyton Hemp has been chosen by the nation’s assistant coaches as the 2022 Women’s College Hockey Rookie of the Year. A native of Andover, MN,

Hemp’s quick start was recognized as she was the WCHA Rookie of the Month in both October and November. (She also won in February.) She enjoyed nine multi-point games during the season.

The national women’s Rookie of the Year is chosen by a vote of the NCAA Division 1 schools’ assistant coaches, with one vote per staff. The names on the ballot are each conference’s Rookie of the Year. The runner-up for this year’s award was Mercyhurst University’s Vanessa Upson. a freshman forward from Stoney Creek, Ontario.

Winners of the Women’s College Hockey Rookie of the Year Award
Year Recipient/Position/Institution
2014 Dani Cameranesi, F, University of Minnesota
2015 Annie Pankowski, F, University of Wisconsin
2016 Sarah Potomak, F, University of Minnesota
2017 Jaycee Gebhard, F, Robert Morris University
2018 Daryl Watts, F, Boston College
2019 Sarah Fillier, F, Princeton University
2020 Hannah Bilka, F, Boston College
2021 Kiara Zanon, F, Penn State University
2022 Payton Hemp, F, University of Minnesota