Press Release

Finalists for D-I Women’s Rookie of the Year Announced

Tuesday, March 8, 2022

Five first-year players, who captured their conference Rookie of the Year honors, are finalists for the Women’s National Rookie of the Year Award, sponsored by the Women’s Hockey Commissioners Association. The quintet includes four freshmen and one sophomore, Cornell’s Lily Delianedis, whose freshman season was cancelled by Covid. Three of the finalists are from Minnesota, including two — the University of Minnesota’s Peyton Hemp and Saint Anselm’s Tyra Turner — who played together at Andover (MN) High School.

The national women’s Rookie of the Year is chosen by a vote of the NCAA Division 1 schools’ assistant coaches, with one vote per staff. The winner of last year’s award was Penn State University’s Kiara Zanon, a forward from Fairport, NY. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, March 16.

Finalists for the Women’s National Rookie of the Year Award

Lily Delianedis, SO F, Cornell University (ECAC Hockey) (Edina, Minnesota)

Peyton Hemp, FR F, University of Minnesota (WCHA)
(Andover, Minnesota)

Abby Newhook, FR F, Boston College (Hockey East)
(St. John’s, Newfoundland)

Tyra Turner, F, Saint Anselm College (NEWHA)
(Andover, Minnesota)

Vanessa Upson, FR F, Mercyhurst University (CHA)
(Stoney Creek, Ontario)

Recipients of the Women's National Rookie of the Year Award
Year Recipient/Position/Institution
2014 Dani Camaresi, F, University of Minnesota
2015 Annie Pankowski, F, University of Wisconsin
2016 Sarah Potomak, F, University of Minnesota
2017 Jaycee Gebhard, F, Robert Morris University
2018 Daryl Watts, F, Boston College
2019 Sarah Fillier, F, Princeton University
2020 Hannah Bilka, F, Boston College
2021 Kiara Zanon, F, Penn State University