Press Release

'Watch List' for Women's Goalie of the Year Announced

Wednesday, January 11, 2023

The Women’s Hockey Commissioners Association has announced a “Watch List” of 27 goaltenders who will vie for the title of 2023 National Women’s Goalie of the Year. The award was created in 2021 to recognize the top female goalie in NCAA Division I hockey. Northeastern University’s Aerin Frankel, who graduated n 2022, was the recipient in the first two years the award was presented.

The goalies to watch come from all five NCAA Division I conferences with 12 from the United States, nine from Canada and six from Europe (two from Sweden and one each from Finland and Germany, Norway, Slovenia and Switzerland.)

The conference offices have come up with this initial “Watch List” of outstanding goalies. A committee of voters — made up of a cross section of coaches, administrators, and media — will pare this list down within the next two weeks and then ultimately choose the winner who will be announced in March during the NCAA Frozen Four.

2022-23 Women’s Goalie of the Year Award “Watch List”

Josie Bothun, Penn State (JR - Wyoming, MN)
Sarah Coe, RIT (SO - Brooklin, ON)
Arielle DeSmet, Syracuse (GR - Charlotte, VT)
Ena Nystrøm, Mercyhurst (SR - Stavenger, Norway)

ECAC Hockey
Logan Angers, Quinnipiac (GR – Winnipeg, MB)
Cate Boudiette, Quinnipiac (JR — Redding, CT)
Pia Dukaric, Yale (SO — Ljubljana, Slovenia)
Hannah Murphy, Colgate (SO — Bradford, ON)
Michelle Pasiechnyk, Clarkson (JR — Ottawa, ON)
Kayle Osborne, Colgate (JR – Westport, ON)

Hockey East
Sandra Abstreiter, Providence (5th – Friesing, Germany)
Andrea Brandli, Boston University (GR — Zurich, Switzerland)
Tia Chan, UConn (SO - Hamilton, ON)
Nicky Harnett, New Hampshire (SR - Plymouth, MN)
Abigail Levy, Boston College (GR — Congers, NY)
Jesse McPherson, Vermont (JR - Chatham, ON)
Gwyneth Philips, Northeastern (SR - Athens, OH)

Molly Elmore, Sacred Heart (JR - Newburyport, MA)
Carly Greene, Sacred Heart (SO - Minnetonka, MN)
Jill Hertl, Franklin Pierce (FR – Highland Park, IL)
Tindra Holm, Long Island U. (SO — Skelleftea, Sweden)
Allie Kelley, Saint Anselm (SR - East Berne, NY)
Hanna Zukow, Stonehill (SO - Unionville, ON)

Raygan Kirk, Ohio State (SR - Ste. Anne, MB)
Cami Kronish, Wisconsin (SR - New York, NY)
Emma Söderberg, Minnesota Duluth (GR - Järved, Sweden)
Skylar Vetter, Minnesota (SO — Lakeville, MN)

View each players Goaltending Statistics Through 1/10/2023 (PDF Format)